drive by

Lately I’ve been overwhelmed by the many many things that are part of my work as a special education teacher…and I haven’t been able to really think and focus on reading comprehension strategy instruction.  It’s stressing me out.  Especially since a big part of my job is to teach reading comprehension.  Right now I’m alternating key strokes with hair twirling, a sure sign of stress and anxiety.  My goal for the week: think and plan.  Set aside time to think and plan.  Do not let other school priorities take over my think and plan time.  This too is important work.

note for later: read this article about value of using Index of Reading Awareness (as a way to measure students’ metacognition in reading)

Leave a Reply

